On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 92.9 FM Lansing, Michigan


Current Conditions(Holt,MI 48842)

More Weather »
50° Feels Like: 50°
Wind: WNW 0 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Partly Cloudy 44°


Partly Cloudy 65°

Wed Night

Partly Cloudy 41°


The Animals Early Albums Available in New Box Set

Image courtesy of Real Gone Music/ABKCO (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Real Gone Music/ABKCO (via ABC News Radio)

As the 50th anniversary of The Animals ' 1964 debut album approaches, the band is set to release its first-ever box set.  Hitting stores on November 26, The Animals: The Mickie Most Years and More features five CDs, including expanded versions of the British Invasion group's first four studio albums as well as an early EP that first was issued in 1963 under the title I Just Wanna Make Love to You .

The compilation will mark the first time that The Animals' first four records -- 1964's self-titled effort, 1965's The Animals on Tour and Animal Tracks , and 1966's Animalization -- will be available on CD.  Each disc besides the EP will include one or more bonus recordings.  Among the rarities are four tracks that have never been released in the U.S. -- non-LP, single versions of "We Gotta Get Out of This Place," "Don't Bring Me Down" and "I'm Gonna Change the World," plus a rendition of the Bo Diddley classic "Roadrunner."

The Animals box set will boast 66 tracks in all, and will come packaged with a commemorative T-shirt.

The band's first three albums were produced by Mickie Most -- hence the collection's title -- whose resume also includes recordings by Herman's Hermits , Donovan , Lulu , Suzi Quatro , Hot Chocolate and The Jeff Beck Group .  Animalization , meanwhile, was produced by Tom Wilson , who worked on classic albums by Bob Dylan , Simon & Garfunkel , Frank Zappa and The Velvet Underground .

Here is the track list for The Animals: The Mickie Most Years and More :

I Just Wanna Make Love to You EP (1963)
"I Just Wanna Make Love to You"
"Big Boss Man"
"Boom Boom"
"Pretty Thing"

The Animals (1964)
"House of the Rising Sun"
"The Girl Can't Help It"
"Blue Feeling"
"Baby Let Me Take You Home"
"The Right Time"
"Talkin' 'Bout You"
"Around and Around"
"I'm in Love Again"
"Gonna Send You Back to Walker"
"Memphis, Tennessee"
"I'm Mad Again"
"I've Been Around"
Bonus Track
"Talkin' 'Bout You" (full seven-minute version)

The Animals on Tour (1965)
"Boom Boom"
"How You've Changed"
"Mess Around"
"Bright Lights, Big City"
"I Believe to My Soul"
"Worried Life Blues"
"Let the Good Times Roll"
"Ain't Got You"
"Hallelujah, I Love Her So"
"I'm Crying"
"She Said Yeah"
Bonus Tracks
"Baby What's Wrong"
New Year's Radio Spot (recorded December, 1964)

Animal Tracks (1965)
"We Gotta Get Out of This Place"
"Take It Easy Baby"
"Bring It on Home to Me"
"The Story of Bo Diddley"
"Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood"
"I Can't Believe It"
"Club A-Go-Go"
"Bury My Body"
"For Miss Caulker"
Bonus Tracks
"Roadrunner" (previously unreleased in the U.S.)
"Don't Want Much" (previously unreleased in the U.S.)
"We Gotta Get Out of This Place" (U.K. single version)
"It's My Life" (single only)
"I'm Gonna Change the World"

Animalization (1966)
"Don't Bring Me Down"
"One Monkey Don't Stop No Show"
"You're on My Mind"
"She'll Return It"
"Inside-Looking Out"
"See See Rider"
"Gin House Blues"
"What Am I Living For"
"Sweet Little Sixteen"
"I Put a Spell on You"
Bonus Tracks
"Don't Bring Me Down" (stereo)
"Cheating" (stereo)
"See See Rider" (stereo)

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio